July 29, 1985

## BYLAWS AND POLICY FOR THE IOWA TRAPSHOOTING HALL OF FAME

The following was agreed upon by members of the Hall of Fame Committee in meeting Wednesday, July 24, 1985, during the Iowa State Trapshoot. Those present were Bob Allen, Chairman, Jim Pembel (representing the State Association), Don Mackerman and Merle Stockdale.

- I. Proposed Policy and Bylaws:
  - A. The President of the Committee and the Committee is appointed by the President of the Iowa State Trapshooting Association and is approved by the Board of Directors.
- II. All committee members must be members of the shooting division of the Hall of Fame.
- III. All committee members must be Iowa residents.
- IV. Two divisions of the Hall of Fame have been established as follows:
  - 1. The Shooting Hall of Fame.
  - 2. Contributory Hall of Fame.

V. Requirements for induction into the Iowa Trapshooting Hall of Fame:

- 1. The Shooting Division:
  - a. Five Iowa State Championships in major events such as the state singles, the doubles, the handicap or the all-around.

Consideration will be allowed for two major wins at the Grand American in lieu of the above (Doubles, North American Clay Target Championship, Grand American Handicap, All-Around, High Overall or Class Championship).

- Mandatory that shooter has shot registered targets for 15 years.
- c. The committee will meet every five years to consider new inductions into the Hall of Fame.

Special consideration will be given to an earlier meeting for the purpose of inducting shooters affected by health, disability, or other special circumstances that might require a special meeting and a earlier induction. VI. Requirements For Contributory Hall of Fame:

a. Persons to be considered must have provided outstanding contribution to the sport of trapshooting in Iowa.

Work for the association by officers, directors, or secretaries.

b. Publicity for trapshooting in Iowa.

c. The promotion of trapshooting in Iowa.

In the interest of receiving as much media publicity for trapshooting as possible, it is the committee's recommendation that the announcement of inductees into the Hall of Fame not be made at the Iowa State Shoot. It would be preferable if a press release and announcement could be made at a separate time to achieve additional publicity.